• 3 Post By SneakyPete
  • 1 Post By PaulB
  • 1 Post By Blue_bird

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2018, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Interest: Hiking, photography, sports, travel
Default Zoa Peak - avalanche risk?

Hi everyone. Wondering if anyone is able to provide some knowledge regarding the avalanche risk on Zoa Peak? I can see on www.avalanche.ca that the rating may be at 'Considerable' for this Saturday (Feb.10, 2018) for the area (https://www.avalanche.ca/map/forecas...h-coast-inland). However, it's also supposed to be a clear, sunny day on Saturday, which is very enticing.

I snowshoe'd up Zoa Peak a few years ago, but didn't go all the way to the true summit. I remember it being sorta steep initially along some sort of road/pipe line, but then being fairly gradual afterwards. To me it didn't seem very risky, but I admit I'm fairly new to this sort of thing and don't have any training with regards to avalanche safety (yet). But I've also read a couple reports citing a risk between the false and true summits.

So please tell me, if you can, would going this Saturday be just plain stupid if the rating in the area is Considerable? Or does the Considerable rating pertain to more steeper terrain? Is it somewhere in between and still a gamble?

Appreciate any knowledge/advice that anyone is able to share. Iago Peak is also an option, although I did it twice last year and wouldn't mind switching it up. And of course, it would also be subject to the same risk. Thanks guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-07-2018, 09:10 PM
Dru
Super Moderator

Interest: climbing and spraying

Both Iago and Zoa have avvy prone terrain near the summit. Without proper training, CONSIDERABLE is not a good time for someone of your experience level to go near either one.