cypress to squamish? - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-02-2014, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Default cypress to squamish?

Hey everyone,

I live in Vancouver and I'm new to clubtread but not particularly new to multiday hiking. However, as a vancouverite i have recently been plotting a hike from cypress mountain to squamish. the first third or so of the hike would be the howe sound crest trail to the lions or brunswick but I was wondering if anyone on this forum is familiar with trails that connect the HSCT to squamish or would it just have to be bush wacking? also, any estimates of the time it would take to complete this trip? i'm guessing around 10 days or so but i could be totally wrong so I'm open to any input.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-02-2014, 07:02 PM
Summit Master

Interest: Hiking, watercolour painting, chasing wildlife, backcountry cooking

It's crossed my mind; I thought it would make a good tourism development project.

I suspect the most likely/pleasant route would be to head slightly inland/east (and therefore into the watershed) somewhere around Mt Brunswick. Exiting towards the coast maybe between Chanter Ridge and Ben Lammond. From there you could use the Mountain Lake trail to where it joins the Sky Pilot route, and then you're back on trail/road/gondola to the Chief parking lot.

I've never seen the un-trailed part myself; simonc is more familiar with that country and might be able to comment on the feasibility.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-02-2014, 08:09 PM
High on the Mountain Top