ClubTread Community

ClubTread Community (https://forums.clubtread.com/)
-   British Columbia - Mainland Hiking (https://forums.clubtread.com/8-british-columbia-mainland-hiking/)
-   -   'Must Do' day hikes in Lower mainland (https://forums.clubtread.com/8-british-columbia-mainland-hiking/21854-must-do-day-hikes-lower-mainland.html)

andigo 07-24-2007 12:34 PM

'Must Do' day hikes in Lower mainland

Hello All,
I'm fairly new to Vancouver, and really keen to hike some of the great trails in the area. So I've got the classic '103 Hikes in Southwestern British Columbia' book. But 103 to choose from and only a few months of nice weather left!!
I was hoping to get some discussion going as to what you all consider to be some of the 'must do' day hikes in the area, maybe 5-10 that would cover off some of what BC has to offer!

Much appreciated,
Andrea

Rock Star 07-24-2007 12:45 PM

Black Tusk/Garabaldi Lake- best done as an overnighter, or one long day.

The Lions- this one is nice to do with 2 vehicles. You can start off in lions bay and hike to the cypress parking lot. you will go from the lions to unecessary mtn (yes it is), st. Marks, and pass in front of Strachan. A long day but a great hike.

Goat mountain- a nice short day hike from the grouse chalet, or you can skip the tram ride and start the hike with the Grouse Grind. beautiful view up her of hanes valley and the peaks beyond.

Colliseum- really enjoyed this one, but again, it's a good grunt. More enjoyable as an overnighter for sure.

Lake lovely Water-Never been, but everyone I've talked too who has rates it in there top five. I plan to do this before summer's out.

David and Karen 07-24-2007 02:30 PM

#1 Garibaldi Lake to Panorama Ridge - ideally an overnight hike but the lake can be reached in a day

#2 Joffre Lakes - It's past Pemberton but you will be hard pressed to find a maderate trail with such consistently incredible scenery