How do you guys carry your SLR? - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-27-2010, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Default How do you guys carry your SLR?

Hey I'm new to this message board but I've been a long time reader of ClubTread

I love the amazing pictures everyone takes, and being an amateur photographer myself I've brought my SLR with me to hiking several times in hopes of taking some fantastic photos. However I found that it was extremely inconvenient and dangerous to have it hanging on my neck the whole entire time. I was worried that it might get bumped somewhere...

I was just wondering how do you guys carry your camera, esp. SLR when you go hiking? Do you place it somewhere so that it will be easily accessible? Any help would be great Thanks ahead of time~!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 06:18 AM
Headed for the Mountains

One of the slickest set-ups I've seen is to carry your SLR in a case attached to your body with a chest harness. It is quick to take the camera out, but can still be put out of the way when not in use. Plus it saves pack space. I can't personally vouch for the benefits of this setup (I've only seen friends use it) but I am considering buying a harness to try it out on my next trip.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 06:43 AM
Headed for the Mountains

Interest: Hiking, Scrambling, Mountaineering, Navigation, Squash

This is how I carry mine.... , Make sure your backpack belt goes under the SLR bag strap, will avoid some burns.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2010, 06:54 AM
Summit Master

Interest: Outward bound author of the Seinfeld thread who builds his own snowshoes