• 1 Post By russellcoffin
  • 1 Post By martin
  • 1 Post By russellcoffin
  • 1 Post By Chris S.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-12-2018, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Headed for the Mountains

Default Deeks Peak Loop - Feb 10 2018

I've been crazy busy at work the past month so when I was allowed to take off this Friday, I knew I wanted to get out of the city. I had plans to go up to the Hilton with a group of friends from Saturday to Sunday so Friday was all about peaking. I've been wanting to do Deeks Peak for a long time now, but never really thought about doing it in the winter for a couple of reasons. The first is I've never submitted a sizable / rarely traveled peak in the winter. Second is that I don't own crampons and had never used an ice axe before. Finally, I don't have really any friends with any mountaineering experience so it would be a solo mission (and I have no mountaineering experience as well).

Anyways, it helped having a decent amount of beta on the area from numerous well documented winter ascents of Deeks and Windsor (thank you Steven Song). The plan was to keep going until I felt out of my element and then turn around in needed. My ultimate goal was to make it for the night to Lost Lake Hut so I was lugging my overnight gear in my 30L bag which was a bit tiring too. Avalanche Canada was calling for low/moderate at treeline/alpine which helped me ease my mind...

Set the alarm for 5 AM Friday morning, woke up at 7 - sounds about right for me. Reached the trailhead at Porteau Road at 8 AM and drove up in my trusty '01 Cavalier to ~800m before the steep hill. Parked in the little pullout and quickly got on to going. Bad news for all you 4x4'ers out there who drive up this road. January's snow on the old logging road had melted fast and completely eroded parts of the road. I was extremely surprised with how many people made it up last year after the destruction - this year I doubt many will risk it.