Mt Polley Tailing Pond Breach - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-06-2014, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
High on the Mountain Top

Interest: general mountaineering/ hiking/ backpacking/ skiing/ kayaking
Default Mt Polley Tailing Pond Breach

Any comment on the Mt Polley mine tailing pond breach? This is big news, but no comment from Club Tread so far. I'm not good with providing links, but someone on this forum should be able to do so easily.

This is a huge fu*k up and I'm suprised that Farmer isn't piping up about how good a job is being done by the company and government.

The water is "almost" drinkable, as noted by the company executive. What about the sludge? What about the salmon smolts on that waterway, or the now returning salmon? What about the silted up river bed?

And who is going to pay up for the clean-up? Yup, you got it... taxpayers! And the company goes bankupt, forms again under a new name and we are at square one again.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-06-2014, 09:55 PM
Summit Master

Interest: Love the outdoors. Hiking, backpacking, geocaching, camping, canoeing, and kayaking. Did I say camp

I'm sure Farmer will be on soon to explain how this created new wealth.

In all seriousness since Farmer works in that industry, I would be very interested on his take on this.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-06-2014, 10:01 PM
Summit Master

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Marc

In all seriousness since Farmer works in that industry, I would be very interested on his take on this.
Should he show his face here again after soiling himself in public, he'll probably blame it on lying environmentalists.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 08-06-2014, 10:21 PM
Summit Master

Threads and shots like this are one of the things that have caused me to attend and post on this site less and less as time goes by.

-Ryan
post #5 of (permalink) Old 08-06-2014, 10:26 PM