A Philosophical Question: Buy a kayak or laptop? - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-22-2012, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Headed for the Mountains

Default A Philosophical Question: Buy a kayak or laptop?

I got a rather substantial tax return this year and was going to replace my laptop. But then last week I found a rental place selling off the Looksha 17 outfitter (I'm 6'5") for $1200 after being used for only a season.

Just to outline the stakes, I do actually use laptops beyond their novelty. I edit video, music, and I'm a student so I write papers on it regularly. Currently, my laptop can only do the latter and I have to use other people's to edit. I don't think I need to argue the case for the Kayak, touring in a kayak is awesome.

It is unlikely I'll have enough money to buy either again before I get my PhD (about 6 years out at this rate). What would you do? I'm rarely so torn over a decision.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-22-2012, 11:32 AM
Summit Master

Interest: Hiking, hunting, fishing, and many others.

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Cherry Pirate

I got a rather substantial tax return this year and was going to replace my laptop. But then last week I found a rental place selling off the Looksha 17 outfitter (I'm 6'5") for $1200 after being used for only a season.

Just to outline the stakes, I do actually use laptops beyond their novelty. I edit video, music, and I'm a student so I write papers on it regularly. Currently, my laptop can only do the latter and I have to use other people's to edit. I don't think I need to argue the case for the Kayak, touring in a kayak is awesome.

It is unlikely I'll have enough money to buy either again before I get my PhD (about 6 years out at this rate). What would you do? I'm rarely so torn over a decision.
Buy used but newer model for laptop and more used for kayak.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-22-2012, 11:40 AM