Gates of the Arctic - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-18-2004, 11:53 AM Thread Starter
High on the Mountain Top

Interest: Love the outdoors. Trying new things. And at night......BOGGLE!
Default Gates of the Arctic

I read a couple of posts from PGPete about this park and I'm wondering if anyone else has been and has stories and/or pictures to share. I have this wierd "must go north into remote lands" attitude and this is one of the places that looks absolutely incredible. Since I'm not experienced enough to go it alone, I'll probably join an organized 9-day adventure trip, but thought I'd get some feedback first.
Here's the website if anyone's interested:
http://www.nps.gov/gaar/index.htm

----------------------------------------
Chaos, Panic & Disorder----my work here is done.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-20-2004, 09:23 AM

Hi Calix,

I'm not sure you really need to book with an adventure company. If you've been backpacking for several years, have taken a wilderness first aid course, and feel confident with being out where you don't have an easy bailout ... then you're pretty much set!

I would get two other people to come with you however. My wife & I went alone, but a group of three would be better - if you don't have a solid partner you've been hiking with for a lot of years. Anything more than three would seem too busy to me (but I like my solitude).

In my opinion, the best way to do a trip in the Arctic is to base camp it, and dayhike from that point (versus a thru-hike trip). Ask the flight company of good areas that they recommend - that's what we did. We asked them to recommend an area where the caribou would be migrating through, and a place with lots of non-technical scrambling opportunities. They dropped us off in a perfect valley. Basecamping makes things a lot safer as well.