North Klondike Valley - Tombstone Territorial Park - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
High on the Mountain Top

Interest: Is eating sushi a hobby?
Default North Klondike Valley - Tombstone Territorial Park

Hi,

Just doing some early planning for the summer and I currently have my sights set on the Yukon. I've been backpacking for around 10 years and although my dream destination has always been the Canol trail, it'll have to wait until I get a package from work since I can't take 3 weeks of consecutive vacation. Well, I suppose I could but then I'd have to find a new job after my return.

Anyways, I was looking for a shorter, introductory version of the Canol and my friend suggested Tombstone in the Yukon. Although there's a well established trail from the Tombstone campground to Divide Lake/Talus Lake, there's also a trail called the North Klondike Trail which piqued my interest :

North Klondike Valley - Divide Lake
Distance: 16-18 km
Time: 6-9 hours
Difficulty: extreme
Start point: Divide Lake or Tombstone Campground
Description: This route is extremely difficult, potentially dangerous and not recommended. You
will encounter thick brush, lots of mud, several creek crossings, and the area is an animal travel corridor so surprise encounters with large mammals are likely. Visibility is poor and the creeks can be noisy.

It sounds just like the Canol trail!

Unfortunately, there isn't much info on this. I found a small blurb on a back issue of Backpacker magazine :
http://books.google.ca/books?id=QtsM...acking&f=false

But that's about it.

Anyone have any info they can share?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 12:28 PM
High on the Mountain Top

Hey,

There are great hikes in Kluane Park, depending on what you want to get yourself into.

Keep me posted on your trip up here, as I'm located in Whitehorse.