Best Guess for transport between Paint Pots & Floe Trailheads - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-05-2020, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
CEB
Headed for the Mountains

Interest: Backpacking, hiking, Skiing, Mtn Biking, Windsurfing, Dirt Biking
Default Best Guess for transport between Paint Pots & Floe Trailheads

In a non-Covid year probably not a big problem but I’m trying to figure my best option for my trip in a few weeks. I’m starting at the Paint Pots and ending (hopefully) at Floe as I got the bonus thru-hike sites and I’ve never done it before.

I’m driving 5-6 hrs the first day so i booked Helmet/Ochre Campsite so that I’d have a bunch of time to move my vehicle, if needed. I’m trying to decide if I move it to Floe Lake and try to hitchhike back with Mask and open window or if I park at Numa (if that trailhead parking is open due to the trail being closed) and split the difference and just hike 1/2 distance both ways? My last night is at Floe Lake and I’ve heard that’s a fairly quick hike out so lots of time there too? I can’t recall what that section of road is like but I seem to recall it being pretty flat. I’m not COVID paranoid but I’m certainly COVID respectful so the hike option might be something I most comfortable with unless it’s a nasty road walk

i could also stash a bike if I could find a cheap one to borrow but that’s not entirely leave no trace but, recognizing that and doing the least impact, I can live with that I think.

Opinions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-05-2020, 01:52 PM
Summit Master