User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By solo75

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-23-2021, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
Ger
Scaling New Heights

Default Snowshoe purchase?

I want to buy some snowshoes so I can join a friend of mine and go snowshoeing in Kananaskis Country.
I am a beginner and want something of decent quality. I am 5' 9" and 140 lbs. If you know of some brands I might like and even a link that would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-24-2021, 05:30 PM
Hittin' the Trails

Go to your local Costco and pickup some $90 Mountain-Man snowshoes.
Try them out for a few trips. If you enjoy it, then go and buy something a bit more robust and/or trendy.
I've had my Costco shoes for over 10 years now and they're still going strong. For the number of times I use them in an average year (4 or 5 times) they don't owe me anything. Something to consider if you find it necessary to buy the biggest and the best top-of-the-line equipment.

Take me onto a short pier...
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-24-2021, 11:22 PM
Summit Master

Atlas brand is good. This is their website with several options

https://atlassnowshoe.com/en-ca/c/sn...ens-snowshoes/

Right now Sportchek has a deal for Access 25
https://www.sportchek.ca/product/atl...31862286.html#
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 01-26-2021, 08:57 PM
Hittin' the Trails

Interest: Mountain adventures, hiking, XC skiing, exploring
Red face Great Snowshoes or good enough?

I am a back country skier of five decades who always said I never would snowshoe. Wrong as usual, it has to do with my equally old partner. So why buy the great expensive snowshoes? What advantage does a premium snow shoe have over a costco cheapie? At this point I'm questioning my need to have the best of everything. Good enough usually is, except in skis.

The mountains are my cathedral, let this day be my religion
post #5 of (permalink) Old 01-26-2021, 10:28 PM
Summit Master