ClubTread Community

ClubTread Community (https://forums.clubtread.com/)
-   Gotta Love Gear (https://forums.clubtread.com/14-gotta-love-gear/)
-   -   Snowshoe purchase? (https://forums.clubtread.com/14-gotta-love-gear/94222-snowshoe-purchase.html)

Ger 01-23-2021 03:52 PM

Snowshoe purchase?

I want to buy some snowshoes so I can join a friend of mine and go snowshoeing in Kananaskis Country.
I am a beginner and want something of decent quality. I am 5' 9" and 140 lbs. If you know of some brands I might like and even a link that would be appreciated.

Longwalk 01-24-2021 04:30 PM

Go to your local Costco and pickup some $90 Mountain-Man snowshoes.
Try them out for a few trips. If you enjoy it, then go and buy something a bit more robust and/or trendy.
I've had my Costco shoes for over 10 years now and they're still going strong. For the number of times I use them in an average year (4 or 5 times) they don't owe me anything. Something to consider if you find it necessary to buy the biggest and the best top-of-the-line equipment.

zeljkok 01-24-2021 10:22 PM

Atlas brand is good. This is their website with several options

https://atlassnowshoe.com/en-ca/c/sn...ens-snowshoes/

Right now Sportchek has a deal for Access 25
https://www.sportchek.ca/product/atl...31862286.html#

gaanes 01-26-2021 07:57 PM

Great Snowshoes or good enough?

I am a back country skier of five decades who always said I never would snowshoe. Wrong as usual, it has to do with my equally old partner. So why buy the great expensive snowshoes? What advantage does a premium snow shoe have over a costco cheapie? At this point I'm questioning my need to have the best of everything. Good enough usually is, except in skis.

zeljkok 01-26-2021 09:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gaanes (Post 854588)