• 1 Post By kellymcdonald78
  • 1 Post By susied
  • 3 Post By Blue_bird

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 09:33 AM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Question Alternative to Salomon hiking boots

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to the world of hiking

I wanted to invest in some good hiking shoes for my first hike, I've looked on the internet a bit and found out that most people swear by Salomon boots. Unfortunately some of my friends told me that most Salomon fit only pretty narrow feet. I went to see for myself at my local shop and found out that they are indeed pretty narrow on the side, I'm US size 13 and I have pretty wide feet. I'm pretty bummed out as I kinda like the look of the shoes and my friends all got Salomon boots (peer pressure here). Is there any alternative to Salomon boots in quality ? I've looked at Keen and Lowa but unfortunately they don't have those brand at the shop and I wanted some feedback before ordering boots online. Also I was wondering if maybe hiking boots where supposed to be a bit narrow ? For support or something ? i'm grasping at straws here the person at the shop didn't seem to know a lot about shoes unfortunately.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 10:52 AM
Off the Beaten Path

Interest: Hiking, Backpacking, Skiing, Space History

I definitely wouldn't order online until you've had a chance to try them on and get a good feel for them (unless the online store has a rock solid return policy).

I've had good success with Merrell
alpalmer likes this.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 02:39 PM
Dru
Super Moderator

Interest: climbing and spraying

There are dozens of quality hiking boot makers, beyond the three you've listed. A little bit of Googling will tell you much more.

My enormous kid wears US size 15s. He has to buy off websites - stores don't stock those sizes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 10:57 PM
Off the Beaten Path