Day trip hiking pack - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 07:05 AM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Interest: Flashlights, backpacks, military gear, electronic gadgets, knives. Should I continue?
Default Day trip hiking pack

What can be considered the minimum pack size for a 20-30 km hike, such as Panorama ridge.

In line with that question, I already have an eberlestock x4 hispeed backpack, with a manufacturer's rated capacity of 23 Liters (1400 cu in), but tested it as being closer to 30-35 liters (1900+ cu in). Should that be sufficient to carry what I need, especially since I am new to this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 08:28 AM
Banned

I like to air on the side of bigger. I have a 42 L Deuter Futura Pro. For summer hikes it's not that full at all, but for winter hikes or hikes where the weather might change I can pack it full of all the clothes (and/or gear) that I might need. It even depends on your size - my wife is small so she gets by with a much smaller pack because her clothes don't take up much space. I'd say decide on what gear you'd want to take and then see what size pack it fits in, adding a bit of extra space just in case.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 11:06 AM
High on the Mountain Top

Interest: hiking, skiing, camping, SAR, Canadian Rangers (army reserve)

I like bigger packs, too, even for day hikes if they take me more than 10km or so from road access and/or in the alpine, as I like to be prepared and hate a pack bursting at the seams.. Right now I have an old beat up Alpine Lowe 65L, but would like an Osprey Aether 60 or an Arcteryx Altra 65.

Who needs a signature? Mine is always: Last edited by dougz; Today at 03:27 PM

Last edited by dougz; 10-24-2015 at 11:22 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 12:34 PM
Headed for the Mountains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponkan View Post