ClubTread Community

ClubTread Community (https://forums.clubtread.com/)
-   Gotta Love Gear (https://forums.clubtread.com/14-gotta-love-gear/)
-   -   Looking for a new stove (https://forums.clubtread.com/14-gotta-love-gear/46538-looking-new-stove.html)

wildtrekker 11-04-2013 04:13 PM

Looking for a new stove

I was just wondering what you use for a stove in the backcountry?

Ive been using the MSR Whisperlite for a few years now, and I usually use the same gear over and over and over again without trying anything new.

What else is out there that you would recommend? Something relatively light, durable is what I am looking for.
I have seen some of the stoves have the prefilled fuel bottles. Are they better than the fill-it-yourself MSR bottles?

Thanks in advance.

dougz 11-04-2013 04:35 PM

I use an MSR pocket rocket and the isobutane canisters.

I was a bit worried that it wouldn't work as well in winter because of expansion issues, but I haven't been out in cold enough weather for it to be a problem, yet..

If it does, yeah, I'd be looking at a Whisperlite.. :)

wildtrekker 11-04-2013 04:49 PM

Are the isobutane canisters refillable or just recyclable?

Seems like more baggage if you went on a extended backpacking trip carrying empty fuel cells.

dougz 11-04-2013 04:53 PM

Quote:

quote:Seems like more baggage if you went on a extended backpacking trip carrying empty fuel cells
It is, no question..

But it is simple (no spills, no clogged lines or other parts to worry about) and cheaper in the short term..

I'm pretty sure they aren't refillable, but don't qoute me.. Also no idea if they are recyclable.. The few that I've emptied are taking up a corner of my shed.

dav1481 11-04-2013 06:52 PM

For the last four years, it's been a cat can stove with methanol for summer use. I make pretty simple dehydrated meals and don't boil extra water for coffee, etc. It did work well for steam baked muffins and cornbread.

Arnold 11-04-2013 10:09 PM