Hiking Boots Suggestion - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-04-2008, 10:20 PM Thread Starter

Default Hiking Boots Suggestion

Hi everyone, I am a newbie hiker tired of hiking in my NB running shoes. My hike's have thus far never been more then a couple hours, pack is maybe around 10#. I am a pack rat and am expanding the pack with odd's & end's as I find them so pack will get heavier (trust me I have a list of things I want in it), eventually I would like to go on longer hikes when I get in better shape (damn desk job) and can convince someone to go with me. Friends all addicted to their 360's.

I am in the market for a mid cut waterproof hiking boot with a Vibram sole (from what I can tell this is the way to go) and would like your suggestions.

I have looked in a few of the stores but nothing has jumped out at me.

The mid cut Merrell boots that would probably meet my requirments like the Merrell Radius Mid WP that I have looked at use a webbing for lacing which I do not like, and feel makes them cheap looking.

I read some review's of the Scarpa Kailash GTX and am going to go to MEC to check them out. Does anyone know anything about them? Would they be too much of a boot for my type of hiking.

Is there any other brands in the $150-$200 that I should be looking at purchasing?

Any suggestions greatly appraciated, I am willing to spend more for quality if I can be convinced that they will massage my toes.

Dresden
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-04-2008, 11:40 PM

hi dresden,
welcome to clubtread. just wondering what the problem is with using runners for hiking. is it the support or the type of terrain you're hiking on?