BC = BC Rockies Lake O'Hara - COVID Version - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By zeljkok

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-30-2020, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Summit Master

Default Lake O'Hara - COVID Version

Annual late September pilgrimage to iconic Lake O'Hara basin I've been doing around the clock for over 20 yrs. I am used to walking 11km access road on the way in, but usually take 6:30 pm bus download that saves the walk out. But this is COVID year & buses are not running; the only way is to walk both ways. This means 22km roadwalk, so I figured once there I'd not go for any significant hiking & just go for photoshoot. All 5 or 6 weather forecasts (spot, mtn forecast, env canada, etc) agreed - bluebird. So I packed my gear, SLR + 2 lenses, tripod looking forward to golden colors.

It didn't happen.

What were all these weather models looking at I am not sure, but it was solid overcast whole day. So after walking 11km road and realizing it will stay cloudy while sitting at bench by the lake just below Ranger Station I pondered what to do. Answer is simple:

Go climb a peak instead

I set of for Lake McArthur, then scrambled Mt. Schaffer - peak I climbed several years before. It is start of fabulous McArthur horseshoe, mountaineering ridgewalk that also includes Mt. Biddle and Park Mountain, and while both of these peaks are technical, Schaffer is just an easy scramble. Photo gear, lugged around whole day for nada, stayed in the backpack -- all the pics below that tell the story were snapped with pocket camera:

Click image for larger version

Name:	mcarthurlarches.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	814.8 KB
ID:	281256
[Lake McArthur basin with golden larches slightly past the prime. Cloudy Mt. Biddle upper left]

Name:	mcarthurbasinpano1.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	465.5 KB
ID:	281250
[Pano view of McArthur basin while ascending gentle grass/talus slopes in lower part]

Name:	scrambleline.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	715.6 KB
ID:	281270