ClubTread Community

ClubTread Community (https://forums.clubtread.com/)
-   Hiking and Backpacking (https://forums.clubtread.com/11-hiking-backpacking/)
-   -   Newbie Rockwall Trail (https://forums.clubtread.com/11-hiking-backpacking/89537-newbie-rockwall-trail.html)

tlhobbs 03-04-2018 05:41 PM

Newbie Rockwall Trail

Hello I am new to this form and somewhat new to multi day hiking. Iím 45 years old and consider myself to be in pretty good shape, I run 6 km three times a week as well as visiting the gym. My 17-year-old son although not as active as me has age on his side :-) Last year we hiked the Berg Lake Trail which was our largest hike to date. We spent two nights on the way up and hiked all the way out the last day. Although the one steep ascent was ďhardĒ on us, we took our time and at no point did I feel like we wouldnít be able to do it. I have now booked the Rockwall Trail for us to do at the end of July. Iíve booked it over 4 nights to be safe. After reading some of the blogs Iím somewhat concerned of the difficulty and Iím hoping that I can get some other peoples thoughts? Also any other tips would be appreciated my other concern are the horseflies Iím not sure what time of year they typically tend to be at their peak. Thanks - Iím sure Iím just psyching myself out at this point but it would be nice to hear others who perhaps arenít Hard core hikers that have done the trail and how they rate it as far as difficulty.

zeljkok 03-04-2018 06:38 PM

You'll be ok, although Rockwall is bit of roller-coaster and thus has more elevation gain (and loss) compared to gentle Berg Lake trail

Re horseflies and other bugs -- usually it is August time, but this year it is impossible to tell because of immense snowpack we had this winter. I'd not worry too much, just have bug spray. I find "horse tail strategy" useful -- just keep swinging around me some piece of clothing, T-shirt etc as I hike; helps to cool off too.

thoughtsnsuch 03-04-2018 10:31 PM