Full mushroom foraging - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dru

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
High on the Mountain Top

Default Full mushroom foraging

I like cooking and always wanted to go mushroom foraging, but I don't know where/how to start?

any idea? Thanks a lot!

Real success in your life is defined by happiness.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 02:13 PM
Dru
Super Moderator

Interest: climbing and spraying

I got into mushrooming several years ago. I'm no expert, but here's some advice.

If you want to hike with other mushroomers that can help you ID fungus as you find it, then consider joining up with these guys:

http://www.vanmyco.com/

If you want to try and do it by yourself, then basically, what you need is a couple of very good guidebooks. "All That The Rain Promises And More" by David Arora is a nice one to start with. So is "Mushrooms of the Pacific Northwest" by Ammirati and Trudell.

Then, you just go hiking. Ideally into forests with no trails rather than along a popular trail.

Find some mushrooms. Use the book(s) to ID them. If they aren't in the books, they probably aren't edible.

If you can get a positive ID of an edible mushroom that you're interested in, and you are entirely confident tha tyou haven't made a mistake, then try eating it, following cooking directions from the book. Don't eat raw mushrooms.
shrubhugger likes this.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
High on the Mountain Top

Thanks Dru, your input are great help for me! I am also thinking to join Sunshine mushroom Society (www.scshroom.org) , will be back there with the updates if we go mushroom hunting this Sept and Oct.

I am also thinking to get the following two books as well:
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 04:17 PM
Dru
Super Moderator

Interest: climbing and spraying