North Shore avalanche bulletin - Dec 16 - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
Summit Master

Interest: Hiking, watercolour painting, chasing wildlife, backcountry cooking
Default North Shore avalanche bulletin - Dec 16

Well, you can tell I work in an office because I didn't think there'd been much precipitation over the past few days.

http://www.avalanche.ca/cac/bulletin...s/north-shore/

I'd appreciate opinions from some of our snow junkies. Think the "high" rating at treeline is warranted? Predictions for how long it will take the snow pack to heal?

I cancelled the beginner's snow shoe I was organizing because I knew that a few inches of snow on hard crust would qualify as "not fun."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 12:52 AM
High on the Mountain Top

Again, I'm no expert. I'd say that rating is expected for Wednesday. You have a least 3 of 5 red flags without even seeing the terrain.

New Snow coming
Warming Temps
Strong enough winds to transport snow and load lee slopes.

I'd expect given the crust that formed and the cold snow beginning yesterday evening turning into heavier wetter snow conditions are about as prime as they get as far as avalanche slopes on the new snow layers. The snowpack below seems to be pretty bomber but that could change with more snowfall/windloading and perhaps a small new snow avalanche could step down given the right conditions.