Hiking Boot Recommendations? - ClubTread Community

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2017, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Default Hiking Boot Recommendations?

Hey Mountain Friends,

Time has come to get some new backpacking/scrambling boots. I get up to a fair bit of off-trail 'schwacking, scrambling, general backpacking and ridge rambling. I have been wearing Zamberlan Vioz boots for awhile, but the vibram sole wore thru in 1.5 years (!!) with a hole thru the vibram, so that was a bummer. Even resoled, still leaks = weak.

Any tips? Looking at Scarpa Kinesis Pro GTX or perhaps Miendl Perfekt (if my legs can get in shape to lift them ) Bonus points for boots that can deal with Rainy River FSR bushwhacking.

Thanks for any tips eh!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2017, 01:06 AM
Off the Beaten Path

La Sportiva Nepal that's what I've been using since 2014 for rough terrain. However, even that the water proof ability only lasted for about 1 year (for my kind of use).. It's almost at the end of its lifespan now...
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2017, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Hittin' the Trails

Thanks for the tip StevenSong. Having a boot that retains it's waterproofness is definitely something I am looking for. I was bummed out that these Zamberlan still leaked even after resoling.

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2017, 12:30 PM
Off the Beaten Path

Interest: Getting outside in any capacity.

I currently wear Asolo TPS 520 GTX boots. Love them, very sturdy, full grain leather uppers, Vibram sole, and they can also be re-soled if they wear out.
Been on many extended trips, Juan De Fuca, WCT, etc. With proper maintenance, these boots will last a VERY long time.